Egypt Independent

Travel ban on Mubarak regime figures

Prosecutor General Talaat Abdallah issued a decree to ban a number of figures of the former Hosni Mubarak regime facing charges of corruption from leaving the country.

The list of figures includes former Parliamentary and Legal Affairs Minister Moufeed Shehab, journalist Abdallah Kamal and former Health Minister Hatem al-Gabaly.

A statement issued by the Prosecutor General's office said on Saturday that the decision to ban the figures from travel was due to charges in pending cases related to the exploitation of influence and profiteering. Most of the figures are symbols of the former regime.

Edited translation from Al-Masry Al-Youm