Egypt Independent

5 Egyptian governorates to host Africa Cup of Nations 2019

The Egyptian Football Association (EFA), headed by Hani Abu Rida, has chosen five governorates to host the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations.

The five governorates are Cairo, Alexandria, Ismailia, Port Said and Suez.

Cairo is to host two groups, while the other four governorates will host one group each.

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) announced on Tuesday that Egypt won the bid to host the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations.

Egypt won 16 votes, while one vote went to South Africa.

The CAF had withdrawn the tournament from Cameroon last November because of the delay in the completion of infrastructure and sports facilities, in addition to concerns about the security situation.

The tournament is scheduled to run from June 15 to July 13.

Egypt will be organizing the Africa Cup of Nations for the fifth time, as it hosted the tournament in 1959, 1974, 1986 and 2006.

Edited translation from Al-Masry Al-Youm