EU adopts sixth package of sanctions against Russia

‏The European Council has formally adopted the sixth package of sanctions against Russia over its aggression in Ukraine, it said in a press release Friday.

The European Council is the top political body of the European Union, bringing together the heads of states or governments of the 27 EU member states.

Josep Borrell, the EU’s High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, said the sanctions package increased “limitations to the Kremlin’s ability to finance the war by imposing further economic sanctions.”

He added:

“We are banning the import of Russian oil into the EU and with this cutting a massive source of revenue for Russia. We are cutting off more of the key Russian banks from the international payment system SWIFT. We are also sanctioning those responsible for the atrocities that took place in Bucha and Mariupol and banning more disinformation actors actively contributing to President Putin’s war propaganda.”

The Council has listed the different areas impacted by the sanctions as:

  • Oil embargo
  • De-SWIFTing of additional Russian and Belarusian banks
  • Broadcasting
  • Export restrictions
  • Consulting services
  • Individual listings

The announcement followed an extraordinary European Council summit attended by EU leaders in Brussels on Monday.

Read more about the sanctions here.

Related Articles

Back to top button