Most notable activists jailed over violating law regulating protests

A number of young activists have been jailed over violating the law regulating protests in Egypt, most notably Ahmed Douma, Ahmed Maher, Omar Hazeq, Yara Islam, Sanaa Seif and Alaa Abdel Fattah.
The Shura Council clashes
In November 2013, a number of political activists staged a protest outside the Shura Council to call on the constituent assembly in charge of preparing a new constitution to cancel a postposed article that allowed the military trials of civilians. The security forces broke up the demonstration by force and arrested a number of participants.
Prosecutors charged 25 protesters of protesting without a permit, attacking security forces, blocking the road, assembling, destroying public property, and the practice of bullying and intimidating citizens.
In June 2014, a court sentenced the defendants to 15 years in prison, and a LE100,000 fine. After a re-trial, Cairo Criminal Court sentenced the defendants to prison terms that reached three years and handed fugitive defendants 15 years in prison.
Abdeen events
Abdeen Misdemeanor Court sentenced, in December 2013, activists Ahmed Doma, Ahmed Maher, and Mohamed Adel to three years in prison, and a fine of LE50,000 each over violence charges in clashes that occurred outside Abdeen Court and attacking security forces on 30 November 2013. The defendants were charged of beating CSF soldiers, organizing a protest without a permit, and suspending traffic.
The defendants were originally taking part in a protest against interrogating Maher by Qasr al-Nil prosecutor over the Shura Council clashes.
In April 2014, Qasr al-Nil Appeals Court upheld the verdict issued against the three defendants. The Court of Cassation has also rejected in last January the appeal submitted by the defendants.
Khaled Saeed protest
A number of political activists organized in December 2013 a protest in front of an Alexandria court during the trial of policemen accused of killing Saeed in 2010 to demand the execution of the defendants. However, security forces broke up the protest with tear gas, and arrested three protesters. The prosecutors issued arrest warrants against four others.
The defendants included Mahinour al-Masry, Hazeq, Loay Qahwagy, Hassan Mostafa, Moussa Hussein, Nasser Aboul Hamd, and Islam Mohamedain. They were accused of violating the law regulating protests, destroying public and private properties, and assaulting a public employee while exercising his duties. 
Al-Raml Misdemeanor Court sentenced the defendants to two years in prison and a fine of LE50,000 each. Their appeal against the verdict was rejected, before a court accepts suspending the ruling against Mahinour.
Ettehadiya march
In June 2014, a number of youth movements organized a march to the Ettehadiya Presidential Palace, to demand the abolition of the law regulating protests, however, security forces broke up the march with tear gas and arrested 23 protesters, including political activist Sanaa Seif, and human rights activist Islam.
Prosecutors accused the defendants of violating the law regulating protests, rioting, destroying private and public property, possessing arms, explosives, and incendiary materials, resisting arrest, and assauklting security forces.
In October 2014, the defendants were sentenced to three years in prison and a fine of LE10,000 each.
An appeals court accepted the commutation of sentence to two years in prison instead of three.

Related Articles

Back to top button