New Cabinet swears in at presidential palace

The new Cabinet presided over by Prime Minister Hesham Qandil was sworn in today by President Mohamed Morsy at the presidential palace in Heliopolis.

As Qandil had confirmed earlier on Thursday in a press conference, head of the Supreme Council of the Armed Forces Field Marshal Hussein Tantawi will continue to serve as minister of defense, while Momtaz al-Saeed also retained his position as finance minister.

Other ministers who will stay on in the new government include Foreign Minister Mohamed Kamel Amr, Antiquities Minister Mohamed Ibrahim Ali, Military Production Minister Ali Ibrahim Sabry, Social Affairs Minister Nagwa Khalil and Scientific Research Minister Nadia Zakhary.

Morsy’s government includes four new ministries, including the Ministry of Water and Sewage — which is a separate entity from the currently existing Ministry of Water and Irrigation — and state ministries for youth and sport. The State Ministry of Investment that had been dissolved after the fall of former President Hosni Mubarak will be reinstated.

State-owned MENA news agency said that Civil Aviation Minister Samir Imbaby was not sworn in today because he is currently out of the country.

The other new ministers include:

Minister of Environment, Mostafa Hussein

Minister of Local Development , Ahmed Zaki Abdeen

Minister of Water and Sewage, Abdel Kawi Khalifa

Minister of Culture, Mohamed Ibrahim Arab

Minister of Local Development, Osama Saleh

Minister of Education, Ibrahim Ahmed Ghoneim

Minister of Electricity and Power, Mohamed Balba

State Minister for Parliamentary Affairs, Mohamed Mahsoub

Minister of Interior, Ahmed Gamal Eddin

Minister of Tourism, Hesham Zaazou

Minister of Agriculture, Salah Abdel Momen

Minister of Communications and Information Technology, Hani Mahmoud

Minister of Petroleum, Osama Kamal

Minister of Transportation, Mohamed Rashad Nasr

Minister of Water Resources and Irrigation, Mohamed Baha-Eddin Saad

Minister of Housing, Tarek Wagih

Minister of Higher Education, Mostafa al-Sayed Mosad

Minister of Supply and Internal Trade, Abu Zeid Mohamed

Minister of Manpower and Immigration, Khaled al-Azhary  

Minister of Endowments, Talaat Afify

Minister of Planning and International Cooperation, Ashraf Abdel Fatah

Minister of Health and Housing, Mohamed Mostafa Hamed

Minister of Communications and Information Technology, Salah Abdel Maqsoud

Minister of Industry and Foreign Trade, Hatem Abdel Hamid Mahmoud Sadek

Minister of Youth, Osama Yassin

Minister of Sports, Al-Amry Farouk

Minister of Justice, Ahmed Mekky

Minister of Civil Aviation, Samir Imbaby

Related Articles

Back to top button