Egypt Independent

Tourism Ministry: Netherlands tones down travel warning

Egypt's Tourism Ministry said Saturday that the Netherlands had reduced its travel warnings for a number of Egyptian destinations, following similar moves by other countries.
The decision by the Dutch foreign ministry includes Cairo, Giza, Sharm al-Sheikh, Hurghada, Marsa Alam, Luxor and Aswan all as safe areas to travel in.
Egypt’s Tourism Ministry said the development was the outcome of meetings held by the Egyptian tourism office in Belgium with reporters and Dutch diplomacy officials.
Tourism Minister Hesham Zaazou expects positive indicators for the tourism activity after decisions to lift travel bans by Netherlands, Japan, Belgium, Spain, France, Germany, Italy, Denmark, Ireland and the United States.
Ministry spokeswoman Rasha al-Azaizy felt optimistic for the winter tourism season as more countries cancel their travel warnings and more security measures are applied for tourist destinations.
Edited translation from Al-Masry Al-Youm